Mango Avocado Salsa

Just like there is nothing better than a nice hot cup of soup on a cold day, there is nothing quite as good as a light, citrusy snack on a hot summer day. This weeks’ recipe contains my last two posts, avocado and mango. You only need a handful of ingredients and a few minutes to make it, and it’s delicious. This recipe is courtesy of Whole Foods, and I must admit I have made it quite a few times before… I did say I wanted to try all new recipes on here but I couldn’t resist (and what else contains mango and avocado)?

Image Courtesy of Whole Foods
Image Courtesy of Whole Foods
What you’ll need
  • 1 large mango, diced
  • 1 avocado, diced
  • 1 (15-oz) can of no-salt added black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1/2 cup fresh cilantro, chopped
  • 1/3 cup red onion, diced
  • 1 jalapeño pepper, seeded and diced
  • juice of 1/2 lime
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt (I think this is optional)
Now what?
Or 15 hours ago.
Or 15 hours ago.

Umm.. throw everything together into a bowl and mix it. That’s pretty much it. Oh, and WASH YOUR HANDS immediately after handling the jalapeño. Wash them well, too. I must have washed mine four or five times after handling it, and showered this morning before work (the next day mind you), and rubbed my eyes at work today and it STILL hurt. So take my advice.(and if you do happen to burn your eyes due to the jalapeno, here.)

Uses and recipe recommendations

This salsa is versatile in that it can be a part of a meal, or part of a snack, or side dish. I have had this a few different ways – with tortilla chips, on grilled chicken, or in fish tacos. I have to say it’s really great on meat, as it adds a citrusy, juicy flavor to it.

I would definitely recommend mangosalsa2letting the mixture sit a bit before you eat it. That way the flavors have some time to meld together a bit and it tastes even better. The cilantro is a bit overwhelming (and I love cilantro) if you eat it right away.

If you’re pressed for time (or if you’re not), and you’re looking for a healthy and FAST appetizer to make that’s packed with flavor, definitely give this one a try! I can’t stress how easy it was to make and how inexpensive the few ingredients are. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

